Human Rights Students and Alumni

Graduate Students

Name

Title

E-mail

Mary Bugbee MaryBugbeeGraduate student; Advisor: César Abadía-Barreromary.bugbee@uconn.edu
José Enrique Hasemann José EnriqueHasemannGraduate student; Advisor: Merrill Singerjose.hasemann@uconn.edu
Anne Kohler AnneKohlerGraduate student; Advisor: Sarah Willenanne.kohler@uconn.edu
Vivian Laurens VivianLaurensGraduate student; Advisor: César Abadía-Barrerovivian.laurens@uconn.edu
Katherine Mueller KatherineMuellerGraduate student; Advisor: Françoise Dussartkatherine.mueller@uconn.edu
Michelle San Pedro MichelleSan PedroGraduate student; Advisor: Pamela Ericksonmichelle.sanpedro@uconn.edu
Zareen Thomas ZareenThomasGraduate student; Advisor: Françoise Dussartzareen.thomas@uconn.edu
Ashley Walters AshleyWaltersGraduate student Advisor: Samuel Martinez ashley.walters@uconn.edu

Alumni

Mellisa Chiovenda KerrMelissa Kerr Chiovenda
PhD 2017; Cultural Trauma, History Making, and the Politics of Ethnic Identity among Afghan Hazaras
Postdoctoral Fellow; Department of Global Health and Social Medicine, Harvard University

Catherine BuergerCatherine Buerger
PhD 2016; Claiming the State: The Impact of Human Rights Education and Legal Mobilization on Ghanaian Political Subjectivity
Postdoctoral Fellow; Global Affairs, University of Connecticut

Rebecca JacobsRebecca Nelson
PhD 2015; Giving Ideas, Taking Photos: Volunteer Tourism and Cultural Production in a Guatemalan Women’s Weaving Cooperative
Executive Director; América Solidaria U.S.

UConn Oak LeafRita Offiaeli
PhD 2015; When the Kola nut (Cola acuminata) Meets The Electric Slide: Constructing Transnationalisms

Robert Booth
PhD 2014; Museums at the Margins of Europe: Slovenian Museums as Sites of Identity Apprehension
Adjunct Professor; Department of Anthropology, University of Connecticut